Front Yard Garden Food   Leave a comment

In my neighborhood, the streets are clean of urine, the trash is mushy and stuck to the gutter floor, it goes unnoticed, covered with sticky, wet, leaves, and the soil is saturated with water, because of the rains. The rains also mean, the tomato plants, that needed to be taken out last week and weren’t, must be taken out this week and replaced with…. and that means, ” the hot pink art, attached to the tree for support of the tomatoes, will be coming down.”

That is the question, “what food plant to plant on the street in the front yard garden?”  I put a lot of thought into this question every year.  Here are  the particulars, what will stay contained and be rather neat, with little upkeep and little water? Very important if you want your garden to be minimal work, and I do.

What food is recognizable to my neighbors? This is probably the most important question to me.  If I am wrong and I have been, food does not get eaten or picked. That is the worst, plain old waste.  I know the worms eat it and the birds, but I plant for humans, and it is a drag when the food doesn’t get eaten.  There is not only waste, but somehow the garden stays less neat and clean of debris.

What’s the weather looking like for this fall? I guessed wrong this summer,  I planted tomatoes, but the regular warm days came late to San Francisco, and the cherry tomatoes were small and few. There were still harvesters, but the garden stayed looking a bit bedraggled, because I guessed wrong.

So, I am back to the question, “what do I plant?”

Leave a Reply

