Roy Allison Merritt contd.   4 comments

Roy A. Merritt, artist of the hot pink, Elvis U.S. stamp,  survived his quadruple bi-pass, open heart surgery. Rumor has it Mr. Merritt, known for his dark humor, said before his surgery, “even the condemned get a last meal.”  He’d gotten his the day before. He is up walking, eating, and I hear, marching to his own drum.   Many wish him a speedy recovery.

Posted September 28, 2011 by sarahdorrance in Art, Family, Thinking

Tagged with , , , , ,

4 responses to “Roy Allison Merritt contd.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah,
    This is your uncle Roy. I’m at home now feeling quite well, considering of course. I want your readers to know I did not create the original Elvis stamp design, I used it as a model and copied it for our local office. I certainly loved your comments.

    • Thanks for reading my blog Uncle Roy and clearing up my mis-writings.

      • Dear Sarah,
        I’m making a meteoric recovery that the medics have told me is rare indeed in light of the extent of my illness.
        After my conversations with you and your dear mother on the telephone I was so inspired by your encouragement to
        not stop attempting to be creative that my mind was abuzz with ideas. Perhaps it is a demonstration of my ironic and sometimes morbidly funny sense of humor that prompted me to write the following as yet untitled poem. I thought you and your readers might find it a rather droll endeavor from a man who was confronted the the possibility of his demise.

        THEY RUSHED ME TO THE HOSPITAL
        FOUR VEINS BLOCKED IN MY HEART
        DEATH HAD HIS ARMS OPEN TO WELCOME ME
        IT SURE THREW ME FOR A START
        “WHY OH WHY DO YOU WANT ME NOW?”
        I ASKED FROM WHERE I WAS FLUNG
        “I THINK IT’S QUITE TO EARLY FOR YOU TO TAKE ME
        FOR YOU SEE I’M STILL QUITE YOUNG!”
        WELL HE SMILED HIS SMILE AT ME
        FROM THE THRONE FROM WHERE HE HAD SET
        “IT REALLY ISN’T ME TAKING YOU FRIEND
        IT’S ALL THAT FOOD AND CIGARETTES!
        YOU ATE WHATEVER WAS BEFORE YOU
        AND SMOKED TWO PACKS A DAY
        AND THEY IN COMBINATION PUT YOU NOW
        WHERE YOU DO LAY!
        BUT REST ASSURED YOUR DOCTORS
        WILL DO ALL THAT THEY CAN
        TO KEEP YOU WALKING UPRIGHT
        AMONGST YOUR FELLOW MAN
        I HAVEN’T TAKEN COMPLETE HOLD OF YOU
        NOT AT ALL JUST YET
        SO SHOULD YOU AWAKEN FROM THIS DREAM
        PUT DOWN THAT FORK AND CIGARETTES!”

        Roy Merritt

        I actually didn’t smoke two packs a day, but so close to that it would startle most to see how much I am improving from the surgery.

  2. Of course I meant as yet untitled poem. Perhaps you or one of your readers might suggest one that is appropriate. My love to you and yours.

    Uncle Roy

Leave a Reply

