“Timeliness”   4 comments

I was raised to be timely. There was always enough change in the glove compartment of the car to call before I was late.  Calling was a drag, so I was mostly on time. I don’t have a car now, so I can’t be anywhere quickly, even so I am usually on time or I call.  It must be the training.

Now that my time is not my own and I have to be places, to meet others, about others, the timeliness training has taught me something.  It has  not taught be to be on time for these meetings, far from it, but things seem to have worked out anyway.

Some of my friends have cars, so I can borrow one if I really need. I mostly don’t borrow them, I mostly don’t need them.  I have been borrowing a car often, lately or asking for a ride from someone going where I am going or taking the more than >1 bus, to my far but still in the City destination.

The bus is the least hectic and my favorite.  I walk to the stop, get on, there is almost always some kind of visual feast, I meander in my mind and then I am there. The bus is great when you have the time.

Borrowing a car is a little more complicated, I must remember the garage code,  feel a little bit of Self  Imposed beholden-ness, fill the tank up, drive and park.

Getting a ride is the most challenging and yet for me has been the most freeing. I must ask for the ride, folks are feeling sorry for me right now,  so getting the ride is easy, but then I must wait.

Yesterday, my very nice, lovely young woman ride was late and she was still a 1/2 hour away when she called.  I thought about her lateness for a minute, trying to not let my timeliness training get in the way of Thinking and I realized that “my time was not my own!” and that this was just another way to realize it.  I was free!  I could not go to the appointment, because I could not ditch my next appointment. I had just re-scheduled and it was much too late to cancel, I still need to eat, so I didn’t go to the appointment scheduled for me, not by me. “My time is not my own”.

Posted September 1, 2011 by sarahdorrance in Art, My Mom, Thinking

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

4 responses to ““Timeliness”

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oswaldo Omohundro
    Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However just imagine if you added some great visuals or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this site could definitely be one of the greatest in its field. Wonderful website!

    • I appreciate your thoughts. I am pondering, pondering. I will be adding photos to back articles and adding them as I write of them, but my time is not my own right now, so it will be a bit of time before it happens. If you have any other suggestions I would love to hear them. I am glad you appreciate my content! Makes it all worth.
      peace, sarah

  2. I agree that your writing is great but the blog could use some more content like pics or links or videos and once you start this process…..it will get easier to do.

  3. YES, YES! Pictures and images! I will learn to do this soon. I do appreciate the feedback.
    peace, sarah

Leave a Reply

