I watched decisons being made   Leave a comment

The sun was shining, the wind was blowing briskly, a warm, hair moving wind. I went outside earlier than my meeting time and sat on the bench under the tree to wait.

As I looked down the street to the west, there sat 2  young men; teens that  I have known since they were in elementary school. They sat on the stoop of a house on the block, not in school.  They both know me, as I know them, not by name, but by sight.  The shorter, chubbier boy saw me first.  He tried to be subtle while telling the other, getting skinnier boy, that I was sitting on the bench.

I thought about averting my eyes letting them have their public privacy, maybe going inside my house, so as not to imprint this scene, unfolding before my eyes on my brain, but I watched. They looked up often, to see me watch them.  The chubby boy, said something to the getting skinnier boy, he glanced at me and shrugged.

I wished to see just one of the women that I know is attached to or that knows these young men.  I imagined I would motion to her with my head, while looking into her eyes, as we sometimes do, acknowledging each other without words; I would motion towards the young men. I imagined she, the woman would see what I was seeing and say something to them loudly, take them home,  get their mothers, do something. No woman came by and I watched decisions being made.

They finished doing what they were doing and walked away from me, I watched them turn the corner.

Leave a Reply

