My Dad’s Shrine Pt.2   Leave a comment

I took my dads shrine apart and transported it to Bisbee, Az in July. I began working very early in the day as the afternoons became much to hot to stay outside, though I spent long days anyway, working at this transition. As I was setting up my dads shrine I realized I would need more time to prepare the area, more time for the moment. I cleared the path of leaves. I watered the 3 old oaks that shade my dad and Billy. Billy’s marker has been there a long time, but I do not know him.  My dad would like having Billy near by.

I tried to stay under the oak trees shade as much as possible, paying attention to the sun and where and what times different areas were shaded. The oaks made working outside lovely and cool, though it was still very hot. The path I am building has put me almost out of the range of tree shade. I will have to work shorter hours when I am not relieved from the sun by the trees.

I scrounged up all of the old brick I could find, hiking up and down the hill, so I could lay a brick path for folks walk to my dads shrine and Billy’s marker. I chose the exact spot to put my dads shrine and I then only moved it once, to its current spot. The walk to the shrine is much more difficult than I thought and I built only part of the brick path, so please no leaving any rocks for my dad until I am finished with the path.

I felt something I cannot name when I moved my dads place from my back yard in San Francisco to Arizona; from the cloudiness and coolness of the Bay area, to the high desert, to monsoon rains and humid afternoons, to a place my dad would recognize.

I will continue to write about the process of readying my dads shrine, for guests with rocks.
sarah

Posted August 10, 2011 by sarahdorrance in Art, Family, My Dad, Weather

Tagged with , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

